Bitterballen

Bitter-what? I know, it doesn’t even sound like something that should be edible. Especially given the American/British predilection of giggling at anything which includes the word ‘balls’.

True, they are not the most sophisticated-looking of snacks; they have more than a passing resemblance to scotch eggs (something I wish the Dutch would discover as I’m missing them, along with a host of other British foods) but they are very satisfying. Especially on a cold, cold night like the ones we’re having at the moment. Just concentrate on this tasty, warming thought while you take a look at what lies inside…

Looks a whole lot less appealing once the contents is exposed.

I know what you’re thinking: “Just what, exactly, is the gooey stuff in the middle…?” I fear if I told you, you would never try them. The furthest I will go, is to tell you that they are not suitable for vegetarians. It’s a little like sausage rolls: you know they’re a meat-based product but if you were asked to point out the sausage roll part of a pig, you couldn’t do it.

Beer: a bitterballen's best friend.

They come with a small serving of strong mustard and admittedly, both the mustard and the balls vary from bar to bar, luckily the first place I tried them in, the bitterballen were tasty and the mustard was not too strong, which I prefer. You should bear in mind this element of pot luck when you take the plunge – you may have to try them twice. And don’t forget the beer.

I don’t think I’ve been in a bar where they don’t serve bitterballen, as I think we mentioned in the kaasstengels post, the Dutch enjoy deep-fried food. The closest we’ve come is a tiny, crammed one-room bar near Centraal Station; they didn’t have a kitchen but could order food from another place just down the road. We were surprised when they arrived with a small salad – obviously this cook recognises the lack of vegetables and/or colour in a plate of bitterballen.

So, don’t obsess about what they look like inside, just concentrate on the taste. And if that doesn’t work for you, you’ve already got a refreshing beer to hand.

8 thoughts on “Bitterballen

  1. I got news for you! Clicked the link of Scotch eggs; we do have them, but only in the south of The Netherlands, in Limburg and Brabant and it’s called friet-ei …maybe an occasional Amsterdam snackbar sells them too but they’re not common here. The wikipedia info on Friet-ei is in Dutch, try to google a pic!

  2. Pingback: 7 things about me… Blogger award received! | Nia Simone, Author

  3. Ha! I have some Dutch friends here in Hong Kong who are preparing for an absolute bitterballen fest tomorrow for coronation of the new king. Enjoy your two days of holiday!

  4. Pingback: Nibbles & Bites at Bar Boca’s |

Leave a comment