Postcrossing

I read about Postcrossing a while ago in an in-flight magazine, but it took me a while to actually get my ass in gear and register with the website. But… I finally managed it a couple of weeks ago! Hurrah.

For those of you who haven’t heard of it, here’s the explanation from the website:

The goal of this project is to allow people to receive postcards from all over the world, for free. Well, almost free! The main idea is that: if you send a postcard, you will receive one back from a random Postcrosser from somewhere in the world.

I am still a big fan of ‘snail mail’ (as it is often referred to in the UK); there’s something about seeing a message handwritten that’s so much more beautiful than printed text. I especially like postcards; Callum is brilliant and will always get me at least one postcard (frequently it’s 3 or 4!) from wherever he’s been. Being able to send and receive them from anywhere in the world is pretty cool.

I received my first postcard today and it came all the way from Canada:

DSCF9487

The picture shows a painting entitled ‘Big Raven’ by a Canadian painter called Emily Carr. I’d never heard of Emily before I received this card so now I have been educated in the area of Canadian art! Two great things about the Postcrossing website: they have a list of suggestions of things you could include on the postcard if you’re struggling for inspiration. Also you have a profile space where you can not only explain a little about yourself and your interests but you can list the type of postcard you’d like to receive (if possible – let’s not be too demanding!).

Here are some (I have far too many for one post) of my favourite postcards that Callum has brought back for me…

DSCF9499

From L-R: this postcard can double as a beer mat (maybe you have two beers at the same time?), this postcard is a cork one made from Evora cork and the last is a great picture from France.

LM

3 thoughts on “Postcrossing

  1. Pingback: Postcrossing | ravishing fancy

Leave a Reply

